Choosing subjects and courses at 13-14

The subjects you choose will lead to qualifications such as GCSE, Cambridge Nationals or BTECs

You will choose your GCSE subjects in Year 8 or Year 9.

Your school will give you a booklet listing all your choices or options. Find out as much as you can about the subjects offered.

See How to choose courses to study in Years 10 and 11 in Related information for information to help you to make your choices. 

Most of you will take GCSEs in subjects you know such as English and science. Some of you may also be able to choose work-related qualifications in subjects such as childcare, catering, business or IT that can lead to other qualifications such as a VQ, BTEC or a Cambridge National at level 1 or 2.

Check out qualifications at level 2.

The English Baccalaureate (EBacc) is a set of subjects that the Government has said are important and measures how well schools are doing. (See GCSEs for the change to exam grades):

The subjects included are:

  • English
  • maths
  • a language
  • two science subjects. These can be either science and additional science or you have to have entered three from physics, biology, chemistry and computer science and gained grade 5-9 (A*-C) in two.

Got a career in mind? Check out what qualifications you will need on the National Careers Service website.

Related articles